Retail Therapy Aversion

Sometimes I think us women will use any excuse to justify the spending of vast amounts of money, because we’re ‘due on’, or ‘feeling a bit down’. I understand this reasoning. I too have been the victim of this excusing on countless occasions, so can deeply empathise with this predicament.

However, I am also a strong believer in being grateful for what we’ve already got. Just the other day, I fell in love with a handbag that was in the sale in Accessories. Admiring its shade (‘but I don’t have one in this colour!’) I triumphantly resisted the temptation to buy it, along with the allure of its price. The amount of money I’ve wasted on sale items is irreparable, and I’m running out of wardrobe space for all of my collections.

Anyway, upon going home and rummaging through said handbag collection, I was more than a little pleased to find that, yes, I do have a lot of handbags, and no, for the time being I certainly do not need a new one.

Being a mortgage/car/pet(s) owner and thus a payer of plenty of bills and outgoings, I am slowly weaning myself off the belief that when I want something new, it actually means I need something new. Ok, so I love shopping and also love a brilliant bargain, but when we actually look through the masses of things we’ve got stashed away in our cupboards, it’s clear to see that we should make use of what we’ve already got, appreciate these things and also save some money. In this consumerist world, it is all too easy to convince yourself that you definitely need a new flat screen tv, iPod touch or item of jewellery; but from my experience, the more that we have in life, the more that we yearn for.

 

One response to “Retail Therapy Aversion

  1. you are so wise!

Leave a Reply

